Custom rendering templates

If the selected file type supports it, the Render dialog allows you to create custom templates for saving files.

NOTE
  • Vegas Pro templates for rendering multichannel audio in .wav/.wav64, .avi, and .mxf formats may be visible in other Vegas applications that do not support multichannel audio. Using these templates in other applications will not produce the desired result and should be avoided.

  • If you modify a template in the Custom Settings window without saving it with a new name, the settings will be saved to disk as "Untitled."

Creating or editing a template

  1. From the File menu, choose Render to display the Render dialog.

  2. In the tree on the left, select a format, select a template, and click Customize... to open the Custom Settings window.

  3. Choose a template from the Template drop-down list, or enter a new name in the edit box.

  4. Built-in presets cannot be edited.

  5. When determining bit rates, 1K=1024.

  6. Use the Custom Settings window to set the template's properties.

  7. NOTE For information about specific controls in each file type's Custom Settings window, click the help ? button.

  8. Click the Save Template button .

  9. Click OK to return to the Save As or Render dialog.

Deleting a template

  1. From the File menu, choose Render to display the Render dialog.

  2. In the tree on the left, select a format, select a template, and click Customize... to open the Custom Settings window.

  3. Choose a template from the Template drop-down list.

  4. Click the Delete Template button .

  5. NOTE Built-in presets cannot be deleted.

  6. Click OK to return to the Save As or Render dialog.

Copying rendering templates between computers or user accounts

You can make your customized rendering templates available on another computer or user account by copying .sft2 files to the appropriate location in the new account or computer.

Rendering templates are stored in C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Roaming\Vegas\Render Templates\<plug-in name>.

NOTE The AppData folder is not visible unless the Show hidden files and folders radio button is selected on the View tab of the Windows Folder Options control panel.

TIP You can find a plug-in's name by clicking the help button to the left of Customize... in the Render dialog.

To make a template available on another computer or user account, copy the .sft2 file to the same location in another account.

For example, to make JSmith's custom wave template available for the AJones user account, copy the appropriate .sft2 file from this folder:

C:\Users\JSmith\AppData\Roaming\Vegas\Render Templates\wave\

to this folder:

C:\Users\AJones\AppData\Roaming\Vegas\Render Templates\wave\

Project tab

Some file formats include a Project tab in the Custom Settings window.

Item

Description

Video rendering quality

Choose a rendering quality if you want to override the Full-resolution rendering quality setting in the Project Properties dialog.

Color space

Choose a color space to use for the rendering template. »For further information: Specify the color space in a custom rendering template

Color range (YCbCr output)

Choose whether the rendered file uses limited or full range YCbCr values: Limited (default) or Full.